Miss. Hillary Strain

Class #1

Happy Friday!!

Yesterday I had my first evening class since last year and this one wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be!  I got to know my fellow classmates and prof and I think it is going to be a great semester.  During the class we reviewed what we already know/want to know about Assessment and Evaluation.  We did some brainstorming about different types that we already know of, discussed good and bad experiences that we have had with evaluation and realizing that during the whole class our prof was actually evaluation us the whole time by observation.  Observation is a good way to keep an ongoing assessment record of your students, you can keep track of who is participating, who is not listening, and whoever shows up, etc.  Going into the class I thought I knew a decent amount about the subject area but after the class was over I realized that I have a lot of learning ahead of me. I  took an Ed French class in my second year of university and we talked a bit about assessment and evaluation in that class.  I already knew that there is Summative assessment (like a test) and Formative assessment (monitoring growth throughout the year) but I know that there is many more different types of assessing and evaluating and different tools that you can use.  I can’t wait to see what I am going to learn throughout this course because I know it is going to be very useful in the future!

– Hillary

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

