Miss. Hillary Strain

Class #2

At the beginning of the class we touched based on the there different types of assessment, assessment FOR learning, assessment AS learning and assessment OF learning.  Before this class I have heard of these three types but didn’t know much about them. Assessment for learning is focused on the teacher, “how effective is your teaching?”. Assessment as learning focuses on the students, improving their skills in the classroom and subjects. Assessment of learning is summative and evaluating, it is the final overall conclusion of your thoughts on the assignment.   I thought assessing was just one overall category, I never knew that there is three different types and that they each focus on different things.  Now that I have a better understanding of these three different types of assessments, I believe that it will help me when I’m out in the field trying to assess myself and the students.  Even though the three different categories just split them up instead of having one be definition of assessment, I believe that it will make a big difference for me realizing what all needs to be looked after while I’m teaching.

We then proceeded to talk about some different types of evaluation and different methods used.  Tracy brought up the “Bump it up” method for assessment.  This method is when you self-assess your own assignment/project and think of ways that you can take it to the next level yourself.  This gets the students to think about what they can do to make the project better and “Bump it up” to that next level of greatness.  This method really intrigued me and I wondered if someone has actually used it in their classroom before so I did a little bit of research.  I came across Aviva’s blog, she actually made a “Bump it up” wall in her classroom, what she did was decorate and create a wall in her class known as the “Bump it up wall” where she would post student’s assignments (without names) and place it on the level they were at.  This way, the students can see where they stand in the project and can take it down to improve it.  It seemed to be very successful in her grade one and two class, the students grew each time they saw where it was at and used the feedback to make changes.  You can read more about it here.

This method really stood out to me and I thought it would be a lot of fun and useful to use in a classroom.  Then I realized what age group I would be teaching at and realized that this probably wouldn’t be the most successful thing to do in a high school classroom. This could seem childish to them.  So then I started thinking, how could I use this method without it being childish?  I came to the conclusion that I could allow my students to redo their weekly assignment, or redo a quiz after seeing their results.  This way, the students will be able to do their initial work, hand it in to me to get assessed, then I can keep it as the “bump it up” wall and give them the option if they want to redo their wrong answers or try and improve their assignment then they can.  This way, it won’t be displayed for everyone to see and it won’t seem childish, but they will still have the option to “Bump up” their work.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

