Miss. Hillary Strain

Easier said than done!

This week assessment is becoming a little more obvious for me.  I am starting to realize how I am constantly formatively assessing my students even though I am not actually recording anything down.  I have started to really take advantage of taking my time through examples and making pit stops to check for student understanding.  I will complete a couple of steps and ask the students “how are we up to here?” and depending on their answers (thumbs up/thumbs down/or just simply saying good or bad) I will continue on or take the time to go over the steps again.

I have also realized that while I am circulating the class as a teach or as the students work I can really see the students’ understanding or the students will be more willing to ask questions about the concept being taught.  This has aloud me to be more aware of all of my students’ understanding and not just the ones who participate/aren’t afraid to say anything during the lesson.     This week facial expressions have become a little more apparent when students don’t understand a concept.  You can see the blank look/look of confusion on their faces and without even having to ask I will take the time to go over the example again.  I have also realized that word choice and detail have become important while i’m explaining something.  It surprises me how creating a different way of saying something makes a big change for understanding.

This week I got to preform my 3rd type of summative assessment.  My Foundations and Precalculus 10 class had their Unit 4 exam yesterday and as the teacher, I get to spend the weekend marking their exams.  I have marked about half of my students’ tests today and I have found it quite challenging!  Not knowing what marks to give for what, if I should take off some marks for little errors that they should have known not to do, etc.  I thought grading tests and marking things would be so easy, put a check mark here and there and be good to go.  Was I ever wrong!  In math, if a student makes a silly little mistake it could affect their whole answer!   Please see the attached word document more my FPC10 lesson plans, different types of assessment I have used, and a sample of a test mark

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

