Miss. Hillary Strain

Tweet Tweet, Are you there?

I’ve gained a whole new understanding and respect towards technology for educational purposes, especially  Twitter.  Before, my view for twitter was directed more towards entertainment and finding funny pictures/sayings that would brighten my day.  It still is used for that purpose, but I have now gained a deeper understanding and view on how beneficial it is to use twitter to expand your PLN and for educational purposes.

During our online class Tuesday, my classmates and I participated in an online twitter chat by incorporating the hashtag #ecmp455 into our tweets.  This allowed our thoughts and tweets to appear on a single stream and anyone in the world, including our class, could join into our conversation if they wanted to.  We were lucky enough to not only have our classmates participate in the chat but people all the way from Georgia, Manila and even Australia! How awesome is that?!  I never realized that it would be that easy to connect with other educators around the world.  I even gained a few new followers and got some favourites/retweets. It was a real treat!

Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 12.34.26 PM

I felt so excited about this experience that I felt I should test out a tweet for math.  During my EdMath class yesterday, we played the game Frogs and Toads and our task was to create our own mathematical logic based on the frogs and toads’ jumps/slides.  We discovered a formula/process and I decided that this would be the perfect opportunity to test out twitter.  I decided to tweet out a picture of our notes to show it to the world.  (The picture above is our conclusion)

Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 12.11.58 PMI posted this picture around 2 yesterday afternoon and only got one retweet, from my fellow classmate Emily. Not going to lie, I was quite disappointed as I was hoping there would be at least a bit of interest. The day went by and I got over the fact that my tweet didn’t go as viral as I was hoping it was going to. I went to bed like any other day and I woke up with a nice surprise. I was completely wrong about my tweet being unsuccessful!  I woke up, looked at my phone and all there was on the screen was twitter notifications. My tweet from the day before ended up getting 6 retweets and 7 favourites! I was so excited!  I noticed that the few new followers I got the other day from the twitter chat retweeted this picture and then some of their followers noticed it and retweeted it themselves!  I also gained a couple new followers from this as well. I am pleased!

Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 12.12.34 PMSomething else that I have noticed from this experience was that one of my new followers went and creeped my profile a bit.  I also woke up to one of my tweets from last year being retweeted by a few new people as well!  The tweet was a humorous one about participating in  a “napping challenge”.  This made me realize the importance of keeping your online profile professional and appropriate.  If this one follower went back to my tweets from a year ago, who know who else would be doing the same thing.   Here is a picture of all of the new followers/retweets/favourites that I have received in the past 24 hours.  Pretty exciting if I saw so myself!

I definitely underestimated how beneficial and all the different possibilities that can come from having a twitter account.  I went from having a twitter account for fun to having a twitter account for educational purposes and to connect and learn from others.  Huge shout out to Alec Couros (@courosa) to introducing me to this type of chat and helping me expand my PLN this quickly!

Feel free to follow and tweet at me on Twitter @HillaryStrain18 or keep on top of my Ed class by searching the hashtag #ecmp455.  I know I would and I’m sure the rest of my class would love to hear from any of you to help us in our educational journey.

Tweet ya Later!

Hillary

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

