Miss. Hillary Strain

Balloon Bumblebee with 1 balloon

Today I was really missing warm weather and was hoping that spring would come soon.  What comes with spring?  Well, bumblebees! In spirit of my spring wishes, I decided I would make a bumblebee.  Unfortunately, what I noticed is that there wasn’t make tutorials on how to make simple bumblebees.  The only tutorial that I found was a youtube video (posted below).  I do enjoy using youtube videos as they are a good visual and they allow me to see what it actually is supposed to look like during the process, the only downside to them is that they are usually done really fast and I need to pause them frequently to rematch the step and make sure I’m doing it right.

I formed my bumblebee in 6 easy steps:

1) Blow up the balloon and leave about a first length of room at the end.

This allows enough room for the air to get pushed to and will also be the bee’s stinger.

 2) Make one bubble at both ends of the balloon, afterwards bring the two together so that they are side by side

One at the beginning of the balloon where you tie it and one at the end of the balloon where you leave room for air to get pushed to/the stinger

IMG_3042

3) Twist the two bubbles together to form head and body – the rest of balloon will be in a circle. IMG_3043 4) Pinch the middle of circle and bring that part of it towards the head/body. IMG_3044 5) Twist the pinched part of the middle of the circle into the body to form the bee’s wings. IMG_3045 6) The fun part… Decorate!  You can add stripes to the body, draw two eyes on the head and draw the end of the stinger black! IMG_3040 IMG_3041 There you have it!  A balloon bumble bee.  Here’s to hoping spring comes soon. Any thoughts on what I should make next?  Maybe I should step up my balloon game and start making animals/objects with two balloons.  What do you think?

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Balloon Bumblebee with 1 balloon

  1. Janet on said:

    This is my favorite so far! What about a crown or hat?

  2. This one is my favourite too! So cute, great work!

  3. This is awesome Hillary! I love it. Looks like you are having fun with your learning project and learning lots as well! Keep up the great work and I can’t wait to see the other animals you decide to make!

Leave a Reply

