Miss. Hillary Strain

Google Chrome Extensions

This past week, I learnt something new in ECMP455 and I am quite excited about it! I have never heard of it before and a lot of my classmates haven’t either and we all love it!  For all Google Chrome users this is definitely something you want to check out!

There is a feature on google chrome called Google Chrome Extensions. You can access this by going onto your google chrome web browser and type in the google search bar “google extensions”.  It will take you to the google chrome store and into the Extensions page of the store.  Here you will be able to access many different types of extensions that you can download and will appear on your google chrome bar up at the top of the web browser.  These extensions/apps are almost ALL free to download and are a great bonus and feature to have on your browser and for your computer. You simply have to go to the store, click on the extension you are interested in, and click “add to chrome” on the pop-up.  This will download that feature and will be good to use for the rest of time!

Screen Shot 2015-03-17 at 6.31.01 PMhere you can see that on the right side of my URL bar there are two little icons, this is usually where the apps will appear after they are downloaded

I haven’t explored many of the options on google chrome extensions but I have downloaded two of the features that are available out of hundreds and completely love them! I have been using them daily and they have been great!

The first one that I use a lot is Hola.

Screen Shot 2015-03-17 at 6.35.17 PM

This extension makes the internet think that you are in a different part of the world.  It is like changing your computers IP address without actually changing it! For example, there are many of us that use Netflix and watch it on our computers but since we are in Canada we have to have the Canadian Netflix. BUT we all know that the American Netflix has way better shows and more variety, thus by downloading this app, I can now go to the regular Netflix site and it will think that I am “travelling” into the United States, so I will have access to the American Netflix!  So it is a great app and extension to have.

The second one that I use a lot is Add Block Plus.

Screen Shot 2015-03-17 at 6.36.03 PM

This extension makes all the adds that appear on internet, apps or anything disappear and not exist! For example, there are usually 30 second adds/commercials that appear on Youtube before you watch the video that you requested.  If you have this google extension, this will make it so that the add/commercial will not appear and you can just skip right to your video. You don’t have to watch that pointless video or wait until the “skip” option comes up, it’s a real treat!

Anyway, for all you chrome users out there. I really suggest looking into all of these extensions that are possible to have.  They are great and definitely useful!

Let me know which ones you have tried out or are looking forwarding to trying out.  I know I am sure glad that my prof told me about it!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

