Miss. Hillary Strain

Who doesn’t love flowers?

In spirit of the beautiful weather we’ve been having lately, it inspired me to make a beautiful daisy flower. Spring is clearly on it’s way and there is nothing more that I love than watching all of the flowers grow in my mom’s garden.

I decided that it was time for me to pick up the pace with my balloons and make it a little more challenging this week by trying to do a project with two balloons.  Well, was it ever challenging!!  This flower used two balloons, and the air pressure/amount that you put in had to be spot on or else there would be complications (aka. popping).  This took me four attempts to do and although my final results were not that great I’m still proud of myself!   Unfortunately I forgot to document my first two attempts, but here is my third and fourth.

I used the following video two help me create this balloon masterpiece and it actually helped a lot! He was very descriptive and gave a lot of hints and tips.  Only downside was that he did it very fast paced so thank god for the pause button and the rewind option! ha ha

There was a multiple amount of steps on both balloons that I had to take in order to create the flower.

The Stem – First balloon (green)

1) Blow up the balloon all the way so there is no air left or room left in the balloon.  BEFORE you tie the knot, let some air out of the balloon – this part is key as it allows the balloon to be more squishy and easy to fold.

2) Fold the balloon into a “Z” ontop of each other but make sure that both ends of the balloon are longer than the twist part on each side.

IMG_3108

3) Twist in the middle of the Z, this will create your stem.

4) Manipulate and form into a shape of the stem.IMG_3109

5) Make a little indent in the leaves.  You do this by folding the leave upwards and then massaging/squeezing it into place. This will make a little bend in your leaves to give it some character.

It's very hard to see, but there are little bends in my peddles. I did have a little too much air in these peddles so for next time I would let out more air in the beginning so I wouldn't have as much pressure.

It’s very hard to see, but there are little bends in my peddles. I did have a little too much air in these peddles so for next time I would let out more air in the beginning so I wouldn’t have as much pressure.

 

The Peddles – Second balloon (whatever colour your heart desires)

* I also used the following website to help with creating the peoples, I found it a little easier to read after I listened to his video. *

1) Blow up the balloon and leave about 1/4 of the balloon unfolded. Again, let some air out of the balloon before you tie it.

2) Hold the balloon straight in a vertical line in front of you with the knot end pointed up. Starting at the end where you tied your knot,  fold the balloon so that it lines up parallel with the line (You can make this whatever size you want, I did mine small so that I had small peddles).

IMG_3112

3) Where the two meet, twist the two sides together.  (Instead of twisting the two blown up parts, I ended up twisting the straight line with the knot).  TO MAKE SURE this peddle stays in place, pull the knot end through the centre of the peddle (circle) that you just formed.

Here you ca see where the knot is pushed through the middle of the circle and is pushed down a little so it is out of the way.

Here you ca see where the knot is pushed through the middle of the circle and is pushed down a little so it is out of the way.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4) Continue step 2 however many times it takes to use up your entire balloon. Once finished, manipulate/form the peddles into a circle.

IMG_3113 IMG_3114 IMG_3115

Unfortunately with my first one, I didn't blow up my balloon enough so I couldn't create another peddle, so unfortunately this one didn't work out.

Unfortunately with my first one, I didn’t blow up my balloon enough so I couldn’t create another peddle, so unfortunately this one didn’t work out.

IMG_31215) Push in any extra balloon/room that you have into the centre of the circle of peddles that you formed.

Here you can see where I pushed the little bit of extra balloon into.  I actually had to tie another knot in it in order for it to stick.

Here you can see where I pushed the little bit of extra balloon into. I actually had to tie another knot in it in order for it to stick.

 

Putting the two together

1) At the top of the stem (where it is not a knot) form a little bubble in the end by twisting it around.

2) Take the bubble at from the stem and push it through the middle of your circle of peddles making sure that the bubble pokes through and is sitting in the middle of your circle.IMG_3119

Since the first one didn't really work out, I never had a big enough centre of the peddles to push the bubble through, thus I had to squeeze the stem into the side of the peddle

Since the first one didn’t really work out, I never had a big enough centre of the peddles to push the bubble through, thus I had to squeeze the stem into the side of the peddle

 

Here you can see where the bubble from the stem wash pushed through.

Here you can see where the bubble from the stem wash pushed through.

IMG_3126

 

3) Make a little bend on the stem so that the flower isn’t sticking straight up.

IMG_3117 IMG_3123

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

